Sketchbook search

Just saw this on Russel’s blog.

Which reminded me of a very very serious dilemma that I have had for years. I have been using sketchbooks for a long time, but I have never really found the perfect one. Maybe someone out there can help me. I am looking for a sketchbook that is:

1. Black
2. Softback
3. No lines
4. A4 or A5

The only one I have found so far is this one by Paperchase. It took me a very long time to find it. For some reason the combination of black, softback and blank pages doesn’t seem to exist. Moleskin do nice books but they are all hardcover, or soft with lines.

I have been buying those from Paperchase for years, but I fear that they might discontinue them and they have also got this fake snakeskin thing going on which I don’t really like.

Help!



IMG_7688.JPG, originally uploaded by Flo Heiss.

11 thoughts on “Sketchbook search

  1. Ah – see I was thinking, from the stack of sketchbooks, that you were looking for a service that would take your sketchbooks away, digitise and tag them up into a visual database for you (like those people who move your music collection onto iPod for a price).

    That would be neato tho.

  2. Hi Flo.

    Muji has some nice ones. They’re thinner than the ones you have pictured, but I like that. I keep different ones for different projects. they’re cheap too.

  3. Muji in NY has the ones I used to get in London all the time. Hard brown cardboard cover with spiral and blank pages. Back in the game!

    Secretly Florain, you like the fake croc print. We all know this.

  4. Thanks so much for the suggestions so far.
    But it’s still not exactly what I am looking for. The Moleskin ones are not A4/A5. Mujji are too thin. As far as I can see, the Rhodia ones are bound on the top like pads, or spiral bound (will check next time I am in the London Graphic Centre) And i will have another look in Rymans. Oh and leather covers are a no-no! God I am difficult.

  5. Pingback: Breaking news: Sketchbook search ends « The way things go

  6. Pingback: 4 Years / 15 Notebooks « The way things go

Leave a Reply

